S and H Campground

RV Park

Write a Review
2573 W 100 N Greenfield, IN 46140 317-326-3208 Official Website

GPS: 39.7983, -85.8503

  • Overview
  • Q&A
  • Cell Service
  • Reviews (2)
  • Amenities

Overview of S and H Campground

Monthly Rate Yes

Number of Sites 350

Elevation 820 ft / 249 m

Tent Camping Yes

Q&A - Ask the Community about S and H Campground

Campendium users haven't asked any questions about S and H Campground

Reviews of S and H Campground 2 people have reviewed this location.

Ratings Summary

Overall Rating
Site Quality

Cell Phone Coverage

Verizon 4G/LTE
Confirmed by 2 Users
Last reported 11/28/2019
“Bait and Switch - Run Down Campground”

Reviewed 11/28/2019

Nightly rate: $15
Days stayed: 30
Site Number: 34
Overall Rating

November 2019

We needed RV work in Shipshewana, IN. Could not find a location close by. Ended up at S&H (3 hours away) after a telephone call to find out if S&H was open (most everyone closed this time of year in the North during November). Explained to Jay (owner) that we needed a place to stay while we wait our turn. Jay explained that he would like to have an opportunity to make the repairs as they do this kind of work as well. Pictures were sent by email ahead of time. Upon arrival, Jay stated that he would let us get set up and come by the next day. Never saw him again.

Next issue...Water...Or the lack thereof. We made a monthly rental. After 2 weeks of no water pressure due to failed pumps, we left. We left for two reasons actually. The second was that we decided to return to Shipshewana for the repairs since we could not get a response from Jay but we needed to outrun an incoming snow storm. The water problem was just a straw in the hat.

Next issue...Trash. For two weeks, the 2 trash bins overflowed beyond belief. There was an equal size pile outside the container as what was in the container. We just threw ours on the pile.

If you stay here, the spaces are better and worse than others. If you have a short rig, you will have an easier time than with a larger rig. We are 42'.

This park is pretty full with RV storage or long-term stays. Many of the RV's look like they have been abandoned and dilapidated.

Roads are gravel/mud. Not real smooth. For larger rigs, it's not easy to maneuver. It can be done but if you are new, you may well chose another location if not already for the reasons above.

The park has a lot of trees. If you arrive in fall, for most lots, expect to climb on your rig to remove leaves and branches before you depart.

If you need fuel, supplies or restaurants, they are about 3-5 miles away in Greenfield. We recommend the Ponderosa lunch buffet anytime Mon-Fri from 11-4 for $8.99 per person. Jim Dandy's also has a great lunch buffet for about the same price. Aldi's is a great grocery store. There is/was a Gander Mtn there but we discovered that they are closing that location. We found a lot of products at 60% off everything in the store. They state that they are not closing. Just clearing old inventory. But inventory had been brought in from other locations. It is very apparent that they are closing down for good. Most all shopping is on Hwy 9 (the main street in Greenfield). If your here, don't leave without trying Jacks Donuts. They are great.

The monthly rate is $470 + Electric ($15.66 Nt + Electric)

The RV Park is 51 years old and mostly reflects that.

Water and electricity are on the wrong side of the rig. You will need longer electrical cords and we used a 25' and 10' hose to reach. When you walk out your door, you may trip over the cords. Sewer was in the middle which was fine for our rig.

There are restroom/bath houses on site. The set by our rig was available (even though there was no water pressure). If you are stuck at the bottom of the park, they close those facilities during the winter.

Two of the days, a drifter was in the park (either drunk or high). He came by our site twice trying to bum a smoke.

Verizon service is decent. We received 2-3 bars during our stay.

Site Quality
Verizon 4G/LTE

This review is the opinion of a Campendium member and not of Campendium.com

Avatar placeholder
Allan And Lauren
38' Newmar Dutch Star by Newmar
9 reviews
“Poorly Managed, Run Down”

Reviewed 10/7/2019

Nightly rate: $23
Days stayed: 45
Site Number: 82 (Front)
Overall Rating

I really wanted to like this place, and I did like parts of it. But overall, it's not somewhere I'd recommend if you have other options.

When we first arrived, they drove us up a steep hill to get to a cramped unshaded spot where rows upon rows of RVs were lined up. No shade, just people living on top of each other. Lots of full-timers (which doesn't bother me). Someone had run over the sewer connection and broken it, so we would have had to run the sewer line under our rig to another connection. Since we were planning to stay at least a month, we decided to call the office and ask for a different site. The lower level of the campground has the pool, a small lake, and lots of trees, and that's where we asked to be relocated.

The manager acted indignant about being accused that anything at his campground might not be perfect - after all, this campground was a well-oiled machine that has been here for 50 years! But he found us a site out front along the road that was near the pool and under some very nice shade trees. He warned us that this was a "pump-out" site, but that pump-outs were free and we could order one every single day if we wanted to. Cool, we could manage that.

Fast forward a couple weeks, and we're getting to know the place a little better. It LOOKS like a 50-year-old campground that hasn't been updated in that long either. The concrete around the pool is cracked and it's fed with a hose that dangles into the water at the shallow end. The animals on the dirty miniature golf course are falling over, and there are large dangerous ruts on parts of the roads leading around camp. The showers were dirty and tiles were missing on the floors. Every week, the site's two small dumpsters would overflow with bags of trash before being emptied. There were TWO washer/dryers for all 350 sites, and one of the washers stopped working halfway through our stay and was never fixed. At one point, the owner tried to convince me to let his workers re-seal all the seams around the outside of our rig for $1,200, and no they wouldn't take any of the old cracked sealant off first - they'd just add another layer on top. No thanks - we'll do that ourselves, and actually do it right with cleaning and removing the old sealant first.

The pump-out situation was the real kicker though. It went well for the first week or two, but then their big pump-out truck started breaking down frequently. They had a little tractor with a 60-gallon tank on it that they had the pump-out work-camper use instead of the broken-down big professional pump-out truck, which meant that pumping everybody out (at least 1/4 of all the sites) would take the guy all day long. We'd request a pump-out one morning, and sometimes they couldn't get to us until two days later. Suddenly nobody but that one work-camper could do pump-outs, and he was off every Monday and Tuesday. There was a dump station close enough to our rig that we could hook all three of our hoses together to reach, but at some point it filled up and it wasn't emptied until a day or two before we left.

It gets worse. A few weeks into our stay, we started noticing a horrible smell every time we got pumped out, so we looked at our plumbing bin and OMG it was filled with a puddle of black water and there were maggots squirming around in there. The pump-out guy said that he couldn't get a good seal on our plumbing because two of the four plastic knobs were broken off and btw since he had to do all those pump-outs using just the tiny little tractor, he'd been dumping some of our gray water out onto the ground each time too. Those two little plastic knobs were NOT broken off before we came to this campground, and now that we're at the next campground, our plumbing bay is constantly leaking, and of course we can't get a good seal for our new full hookup site now either. We've had to order a new black/gray water Y to install, and hopefully that won't be too hard to replace. I wish we'd taken a picture of our plumbing bay before going to S & H Campground so we'd have proof, but oh well... lesson learned I guess.

This campground is cheap for monthly stays $620/mo includes electricity according to all their signs (though we were charged $680 for no reason that I could figure out). Single nights are $50-$65, which is wildly overpriced IMHO.

I wouldn't recommend this place unless you're on a tight budget and just want someplace in the summer with a pool that's cheap, good for kids (on weekends), and close to Indianapolis. But if you end up in a site where you have to use their pump-out service, make sure you take detailed pictures of your plumbing bay before you let them start doing the pump-outs.

Site Quality
Verizon 4G/LTE

This review is the opinion of a Campendium member and not of Campendium.com

Be the first to add a note for S and H Campground!

Add a note!

Be the first to add a video for S and H Campground!

Add Video!

Have you written a blog post about S and H Campground?

Share it here!

Contact us to update this listing.


  • 50 Amp
  • 30 Amp
  • 20 Amp
  • water
  • sewer
  • Full Hookups
  • wifi: yes
  • playground
  • swimming pool: onsite
Site Amenities
  • big rig
  • picnic table
  • pull thru
  • dump station
  • laundry
  • rv storage
  • swimming pool: onsite
Discount Clubs
  • Good Sam
  • Passport America
  • pets


Heartland Resort

Nice place

- swinfree

Indianapolis KOA

Most welcoming, beautiful camp we have ever stayed at

- campaholic

Indiana State Fairgrounds Campground

Weird, But In The City - So Worth It!

- Liz & Jake

Flying J Travel Center

3 lanes - easy to dump and refuel at the same time

- Bob Saget

Group 2 Created with Sketch.
Back to Top